Review: BU Certification Program


  1. Cheri Hudson Passey
    Cheri Hudson Passey April 25, 2014 at 6:20 am .

    Congratulations! I would love to take the BU Certification Program one day!

  2. Chris Shackelford
    Chris Shackelford April 25, 2014 at 8:30 am .

    Congratulations! This is quite the accomplishment. I’ve looked at this program a while back and this post helps me get a better idea of the time investment required.

  3. April 25, 2014 at 1:22 pm .

    Congratulations Shannon. Quite the accomplishment. We look forward to sending you lots of research projects.

  4. Michelle Goodrum
    Michelle Goodrum April 25, 2014 at 6:53 pm .

    Congratulations Shannon! And thanks for an eye opening review of the BU course. I’m hoping to take it this fall and had heard it can be quite time consuming. I’ll plan on carving out 3-5 hours like you did.

  5. Patti
    Patti April 27, 2014 at 11:25 am .

    Congrats on completing. My question is why did you choose BU instead of Brigham Young? Cost? Course content? Recommendations by others? I have gone to several genie conferences and have never heard/seen any reference to BU. Are you from that area? Please help to understand why that school was chosen. I have been planning on the BYU course because it has been recommended by several I know but now I would like to see what else is available. Thanks

  6. Patti
    Patti April 30, 2014 at 9:16 am .

    Thanks so much for your input! Makes sense to do the BU program more than the BYU. Congrats on your accomplishment also :)

  7. Dana
    Dana May 3, 2014 at 9:20 pm .

    Thanks for this review! I just recently came across this course but was wondering if it was really worth it. I’m going to really consider it for this fall!

  8. Margaret Fortier
    Margaret Fortier May 25, 2014 at 12:16 pm .

    Congrats on completing the course. I am a member of OL10 and agree with your assessment.

    I found it very worthwhile. When I decided to turn my passion as a genealogist into my profession I wanted to start off on the right foot. I felt I knew what I was doing in some areas but also knew I needed guidance in others. And the chance to learn from the accomplished instructors, assistants and fellow students is wonderful.

  9. Christine
    Christine October 25, 2014 at 1:05 pm .

    Thank you so much for the review. I’m planning on taking this course in the next year or so.

Leave a Reply

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)